Faith-1 is the loneliest number

I have been single all 27 years of my life. Yes, I’ve been on dates. First, second, and sometimes even third ones. It hasn’t worked out yet, and yes I’m still struggling with it.

I’m not here to talk about what people should or shouldn’t say to me to make me feel better. What I want to talk about is the belittling of my feeling of loneliness in general. There is this myth that the pang of loneliness can somehow be cured by having a more fulfilling relationship with Christ. Well, I tend to disagree.

Genesis 2:18 The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”

We are made for relationship; even God recognized that. God recognized that without Eve, Adam was alone (ie. God needed to fulfill the relationship reflection of the trinity in humans). So yes, people, I’m allowed to be lonely. It’s ok to feel pain. It’s ok.

Leave a Reply

