Minimalism Game-Day 31, Last Day

This is a long overdue post, better late than never!

I know this isn’t technically 31 items, but it’s one really big one. My first MacBookPro. I remember being incredibly anti-Apple back in the day. After my third PC in four years was slow and frustrating me, I decided to cave and buy an Apple. That was in 2010. 7 years later, it died officially. I never regretted that purchase.

I ended up selling the shell that was this computer for $200. Everything works except the hard drive. It wasn’t that sad or hard to sell, but it carries sentimental value. At the time the computer was an expensive purchase. I used my own money. It was probably $1200. $1200/7=171.43 a year. Thinking of it this way made buying my new laptop a lot easier decision. Did I want to spend a good chunk of my house downpayment on a new laptop? Not particularly. But now I don’t have to worry about this again for another 7 years as long as all goes well. Same with my car. I didn’t want to spend the money on it, but I would’ve had to dump money into my other one soon enough for repairs. Additionally, my Venza is a family car. Who knows where I’ll be five years from now, but I’m covered either way. Plus, it’s good in the snow, and I can be seen better on the highway and it’s safer.

My point is, it’s not always about the price tag. It’s about the value.

Which leads me to the minimalism game wrap up. I’m really satisfied with my results. I didn’t make it all the way to Easter, but I made it to a point where I walk in my room and love how everything is organized and cleaner feeling. There’s only one thing I miss-an extra pair of crappy sweat pants. I’m going to feed goats with my parents tomorrow (##youknowyou’refromruralMAwhen) and I didn’t have a pair to bring. I’ll manage. I mostly only have things that have value. The next time I move I’ll have way less stuff.

Now, the new game is to keep my life minimalist and not buy a lot of stuff! So far so good.

IMG_1030.JPG

IMG_1254.JPG

Leave a Reply

