Ask and you shall receive

A little over two weeks ago I had my last day at my first ever side gig, the Framingham YMCA. I will do a whole separate post on that and what it did for my life. This post is about jumping ahead to the next thing.

There are many benefits to working at a YMCA that I knew I would sorely miss. The community, the comprehensive fitness options, the extra money. So what’s a girl to do but apply at a YMCA near my new home?

The one closest to me has little to no fitness classes and I didn’t want floor hours. So I looked at the next closest YMCA, the Cambridge location.

There were no job postings, so on a whim I emailed the director. He emailed me back relatively soon and we set up an interview and demo. I had never had to do a demo before- great way to get out of my comfort zone. For the record, a demo is typically a fifteen minute long class plan for the person interviewing you.

The interview and demo went great. I landed the job! Everything’s sunshine and roses! Ha, if only.

Turns out there’s no parking lot. To park, it’s metered parking. Its like $2 worth of quarters every time you park, two hour maximum. The most annoying!

Then, because I’m technically only a “sub”, I didn’t get a membership. WHAT?! that’s the main reason I wanted the job.

This isn’t panning out to be how I expected. Well, after mulling back and forth about maybe quitting, I decided to email her back and ask if I could get a membership. Worst she says is no?

I had a rough draft of what I would say and I ran it by my boyfriend. Here’s what I said-

“Also, I would like to discuss getting a membership as a staff member. I think that agreeing to teach every other week would be considered more than subbing. At one point I’m teaching four weeks in a row. Could that benefit be reconsidered? It was a big reason I wanted to start working for another YMCA.”

He said it was too wordy and wrote back

“Dear ________,

I know I am a sub and we are not eligible for membership, but since I am working as a long term sub over the summer I am passing up vacation opportunity during this time. Could this benefit be reconsidered?

Thanks,
sarah the dork :)”

And I said “but I don’t agree that I’m a sub!” And he wrote back-

“Dear ________,

I am a sub and we are not eligible for membership, but since I am scheduled to work every other week over the summer I am passing up a lot of vacation opportunity during this time. Could a basic membership benefit be reconsidered in my situation?

Thanks,
sarah the dork :)”

HAHAHA. So in the end I wrote-

“I am wondering if you could reconsider my eligiblility for a basic membership. I am scheduled to work every other week over the summer-at one point I’m working four weeks in a row- and I am passing up vacation opportunity during this time. Since I am technically a sub, I am not eligible for membership but could this be reconsidered in my situation? It was standard at my old YMCA, I didn’t think to ask before I started!”

Sometimes I have to be reminded that telling the other person I think they’re wrong probably won’t get me my way. Thanks, John! Does the wording need to be perfect? Probably not. Just be considerate of the other person’s ego and opinion, let them know that you hear them out, and bring your point of view. I ended up getting the membership, woot!

Most importantly, ask and you shall receive. I’m glad I took the “risk” and asked.

What can you ask for that you may think is a big risk but probably really isn’t that could be really beneficial for you if you get it?

Leave a Reply

