Faith-Yume Wo Katare

A couple weeks ago I went out to dinner at a Ramen Restaurant in Central Square called Yume Wo Katare for my boyfriend’s birthday. Roughly translated from Japanese it means “Tell Your Dream”.

When I first looked at the menu I thought I was missing something. There are only two items. The second item is simply a larger portion size of the first. Regardless, I was open to whatever and I’m not a picky eater so I went with it.

This is a popular restaurant, but there wasn’t too much of a line at the time. After waiting about twenty minutes on a rainy Friday at 7pm, we were seated with four other people in line with us.

Before you enter the hostess has you do a quick hands in cheer with your group, whether you know them or not, usually “1-2-3 ramen!”. I thought this set the mood quite well! It doesn’t look like much on the outside, but I like the simpleness.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 6.29.50 PM.png

Once inside there’s a great cheer from the cooks welcoming you. They take your order of either the smaller portion or the bigger portion of ramen and pork. I chose smaller and it was a great decision. Then the fun part- they ask you if you have a dream. Of course I do! They hand you a little placeholder stand with a note saying “I have a dream”. More on this later. Warning, they are cash only!

You’re then asked to grab a spoon, chop  sticks, and to grab a seat on a bench. We were right in front of the kitchen which made it interesting. The restaurant (essentially a room) was decorated with Japanese writing and notes of peoples’ dreams.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 6.29.32 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 6.29.18 PM

Before I knew it I was being asked if I wanted garlic and my ramen was ready. It was DELICIOUS. It was plentiful.

When you’re finished your food the host asks you to stand up, say your name, and share your dream. Throughout our meal we heard things like “I want to make the world a better place when I graduate college” and “I want to move into my own apartment”. Everyone cheers for you and wishes you the best to accomplish your dream. Then they “grade your meal”. You get a “good job” if you’ve eaten most of it, and a “perfect” if you’ve eaten it all. Supposedly your dream only comes true if you’ve eaten it all.

There’s a “dream fund” at the front. If you donate to it the host announces it and everyone claps. I’m not sure what it’s funding, maybe a new location?

At the end of my meal I got a “good job” and my dream was to own a fitness center some day. I also announced it was John’s birthday so he had the whole room singing to him.

I would highly recommend this experience to everyone. It far exceeded my expectations and I would go back in a heartbeat with an emptier stomach.

This is in the faith category because, well, it may take a little more than finishing a bowl of ramen for your dream to come true. 😉

Leave a Reply

