Finance-Side Hustle 5 Dog Sitting

The first time I ever agreed to take care of a dog for money was when I did it in exchange for reduced rent. That’s when I learned the hard way what questions to ask before agreeing to take care of a dog. The dog had bitten a dog walker and she would not come back to walk him. I was not informed of that before I agreed to the conditions. The dog was very misbehaved and would try to run and tackle me every time I left the house (it was part shepherd, so its instincts were to keep the pack together). Needless to say, that situation ended poorly.

On Friday, I get a frantic text from a friend asking if I can dog sit. I don’t necessarily agree, I ask for details. The next thing I know I get a call from his wife saying “Thank you for doing this” blah blah blah. Ok, guess I’m doing it. It is really inconvenient being all the way in Newton. Having to bring all my food. I could go on and on about why this sucks, but that’s not going to help the situation. A lot of me agreed to it because my ex called me selfish and all of my being wants to prove him wrong. I told my friend this, and she said that this was me being used.

They haven’t paid me yet, which I am unhappy about. I know they will be generous because I’m speaking it. I’m also eating some of their food. They told me I could.

Here are some pictures. His name is Puchini…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first night he whimpered and barked outside my bedroom door until 3am. I refuse to sleep with a dog in my room. I kept getting scared that there was actually someone trying to break in, but I knew if I caved he would continue barking because he got attention. It worked! The last three nights he’s scratched the door for a few minutes then gives up. Praying that happens tonight.

This is him whimpering over my shoulder looking for attention.

IMG_3792 2

I’ll update with how much I get paid when I finally get paid. Hopefully it’s good spending money for my Colorado trip!

Leave a comment