Finance-Cooking Class

I’ve been meaning to take a cooking class for a long time. When I was looking up things to do in Somerville, going to Shiso Kitchen was one of the top suggestions in TripAdvisor.

IMG_5398

I emailed Jess, the owner and chef, and she responded with a couple open classes. She didn’t have enough people registered for today, but eventually my friend Gillian and a couple registered so we were in! Today was the Provencal French Dinner. “Get a taste of Southern French fare with a menu featuring regional favorites such as: Spring Greens with Champagne Dijon Vinaigrette, Socca de Nice (traditional French skillet flatbread), Peppered Beef with Herbs and pan sauce, Ratatouille OR Provencal Vegetable Tian, and Caramel Glazed Berries with Vanilla Cream.”

It was really fun. There was a lot of hands-on work obviously so not a lot of picture taking options. Here’s us making the Vegetable Tian. We learned basic knife skills and she shared that Shun Knives are her favorite. The company will sharpen the knives again for you if you send them in.

IMG_4086

The whole thing was pretty complicated and I’m not sure that I would be able to do it alone or again. I personally cut the onion, eggplant, and strawberries, made the caramel, whipped the cream, made the pan sauce, and assembled the Tian. Here are some pictures of the final products. I loved that we made our own salad dressing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Although I would have a hard time reproducing the entire dinner, I can now use a knife better, cook steak, and make my own vinaigrette. I’m going again next Friday for Asian Bao Steamed Buns & BBQ.

The price was $89, but I was discounted $13 because I am going again next week. I added $11 gratuity. Well worth it for a fun, rainy Friday night activity. I’m glad I paid off my debts so I can do these activities guilt free.

IMG_7291

Bon Appetite!

Leave a Reply

