Fitness-Boston Brunch Runners

Options. We’re overloaded with them. Since moving back to Somerville I’ve found myself overwhelmed with all that comes with city life. What Mass do I go to? What grocery store? Which gym, if any, should I join? Which fitness groups do I join? What Young Adult group do I start attending?

The last thing I wanted to do this morning was run. This is a growing trend. Thankfully, that inner voice reached out to me and said “go”. So I went and checked out this running group that is a spin-off of The November Project. NP is a group of people who work out every Monday at a different location, every Wednesday at Harvard Stadium, and every Friday at Summit Ave at 6:30 am. I am off to work at 5:45 am every day, but I’m exploring the idea of attending. No harm to try once, right?

I discovered the spin-off group, Boston Brunch Runners, probably through Facebook somehow. I’ve been meaning to check them out as one of my many fitness options. They went to Winter Hill Brewing Company a few weeks ago but I was at the bachelorette party. This week they went to NOCA Provisions, a new cafe in NOrth CAmbridge which happens to be directly across the street from where my ex lives. The good news was I am familiar with the running route it takes to get there. The bad news, mixed emotions. I’m trying to be that person that makes new memories instead of belabors on the old, but it’s hard.

IMG_1482

Anyway, they started at 9am ish, and they had a few routes to choose from. Walking, 3 miles or 6 miles. I chose 3 miles, since it was already a 2 mile run there and then I’d have to get back.

img_2088.png

I ended up pairing up with a girl named Brooke who kept me company and pushed my pace. It was warm but not super uncomfortable. Here we are!

19955847_10213927122593703_1493092006318227703_o

After we were done I ordered a greek yogurt bowl with coconut granola and strawberries. It was delicious and only $6.29. I forgot to take a picture, but the one sitting on the counter looked similar.

IMG_3946

Here’s a picture of the whole group.

19942597_10213927119113616_6969624688069217029_o

I was feeling pretty depressed after the run so I called my friend Lisa to talk about things, which made the two mile walk back enjoyable and quick.

I didn’t quite feel like I belonged, but I also didn’t make a huge effort to be outgoing so it was mostly my fault. I think I’ll go again. So 7 miles and a nap it was for me today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

